a great steinweiss series – the al jolson story


There is no denying that Steinweiss was at his best in the 1940s – the designs were beautiful, and stand as works of art on their own. Nevertheless, he remained a truly great designer throughout his career. Here, in the early 1950s, he came up with a series of covers that work beautifully together – owning one makes you want to own the others, and that is the highest mark of commercial art. His redesigns of the Original Cast albums – King and I, Guys and Dolls, etc. works very well as a series. I like these Jolson story covers even better. I show a later reissue on MCA as well – they only changed the cover a little, but that little change serves to underscore Steinweiss’ brilliance – the original is just better. I also show a British issue of one of them. As far as I can tell, they issued the first five at the same time and DL9050 a little later, when they saw how well they were selling.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to a great steinweiss series – the al jolson story

  1. Paul Morris says:

    I hadn’t thought of these (those I’ve seen) as Steinweiss, but I think you’re right. The type checks out on all the Jolsons, though Among My Souvenirs uses a font he didn’t have in the forties.

Leave a Reply

